Tilford Green

I had an absolutely fabulous day today.  I was talking to Matt at Aldershot Town Football Club a couple of days ago and he asked if I would like to play cricket for a Shots XI against a Tilford XI.  This fixture was played a couple of years ago and Tilford's side was made up of mostly their Third XI members who play in a similar league to the Liphook and RIpsley 3rd team that I play for.

That game was tied, so Tilford obviously decided to try a bit harder this year by playing most of their First XI.  Their First XI won the I'Anson competition last year, so they are pretty good.  They amassed 237 runs in 28 overs before declaring.  I think I did OK.  Whilst I didn't take any wickets, I only conceded 15 runs from my four overs, which in the context of the game was very good.

I was feeling quite good with the bat in my hand and had stroked three nice boundaries before getting a top edge which had me caught out.

Cracking day playing in the same team as the Manager, Director of Football, Secretary, Goalkeeping coach and a couple of other fans.  This photo is of our Chairman, Shahid batting with his son, Zar, in front of the legendary Barley Mow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.