Poppy

By Poppy

View from the bridge

Back to Rothbury to see the old family home where my aunts and my mother grew up and then the retirement flat that Granny and Granda later moved to. 

So lovely to be back even though it was pretty busy. A trip to the cemetery to clean the grave stones and renew the flowers then a drive up the country to see other places with family connections. We do this every visit, to keep the stories of them sharp. They include the house Granda was born in, the house where my mother was born, a tree which was already growing when my great grandmother was a farm servant nearby and the house where my Granny was in service. 

It's fascinating to hear M telling us all about the places she and my mother played as children and hear stories about the people they knew then.  We're talking 1940s. A completely different way of life in the villages of Northumberland in those days.

Looking forward to our next visit. Hopefully not another few years away. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.