Sale Fell again!

I woke up early, checked the Cumbria Crack website, and the Red Arrows were scheduled to fly over Bassenthwaite at 10.45.

Was parked up by 8.50, and again set off up the fell. I was getting near the top at 9.45 - a full hour early, feeling positive  - I was literally 100 yards from the top, (camera & long lens still in my pack) and I heard a plane - turned round to see the Red Arrows fly straight past - a V of 5 followed by three. No time to get my camera out or get a shot. They were a full hour early!

I can't repeat the language here - but to say I was miffed would be an understatement. I'd planned it so carefully too.

As I walked back down, I got this pic of a marshy pond, which I actually really like, but it didn't really compensate. Driving home, many cars were parking in the Bassenthweaite lay-byes, with people getting out with their binoculars, to see the flypast. I did check Cumbria Crack and a couple of other websites, all still said 10.45.

Next time I'll be 2 hours early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.