Rodents rule

By squirk

Speckled wood

Spotted in a speckled wood – Sydenham Woods, where we sought shelter from the sun. It was cooler in there and not that busy. We were last here when during the lockdowns when it was very busy. Today, just a few dog walkers and plenty of butterflies, mainly speckled woods.

We were watered at the Horniman Museum cafe, where everything was wrapped in plastic, so I settled for a cup of tea. The plastic overload was disappointing, even if it is compostable (but not in a normal compost bin – I'm still pulling out bits of "compostable" plastic from the compost a decade on from when I thought home composting would break it down).

Looking forward to a cooler week. Back on a contract job tomorrow after just freelancing for four months. I have to get used to a 9.30 start again (most days, I'm not a morning person).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.