From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

I feel so used!

I'm a very subdued frog.

For years I have been sat here trying to attract the birds but after my solar light patch went peculiar in the snow a few years ago, I can't even attract flies, never mind the birds! With my paint peeling, I am a pathetic sight.

I thought my luck was changing over the last couple of weeks. A new pigeon appeared in the garden and turned my humdrum days into feathery delights. It started with a cheeky wink from that beady eye, then the waving of a spindly leg in my direction and a deliberately dropped tail feather on a fly past. Oh I was smitten! Well, between you and me, I nearly croaked on the feather but the thought behind that token really got me! I was smitten!

We had two lovely evenings sat in the moonlight too with Foxy and the yowling cats serenading us. It was so romantic!

Today was a sad day. Typical! I should have known better than to fall for a feathered fiend! There was me thinking that today would be a fine day. What happened? First there was a shy look from the shed roof promising so much! I was so excited, I nearly hopped off the table. Finally, we would be united forever when the love of my life flew over to join me! I thought I was going to burst with happiness!

Imagine my horror when I realised the sorrowful truth - my glorious pigeon was only ever after one thing (actually several)..... MY NUTS! Woe is me!

Track? I am so broken hearted, led up the garden path (sort of) but here is a fantastic song from Nazareth - Love Hurts

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.