Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Duo

A new bug for me! A two-lined spittlebug - Prosapia Bicincta. 
And the knapweed is blooming.

The bug was on the back of The Husband's leg as we were walking along our path through the hayfield. "Can you stop a minute so I can photograph the insect on the back of your leg?" I said. HAHAHAHAHA! It's a small insect - about the size of a leafhopper. I've seen the spittle on many occasions, but never the bug itself.

And I have no idea which kind of knapweed this is. Seek never seems to know. When I google it, it seems that there is spotted knapweed, diffuse knapweed, and Russian knapweed - all of which are, "noxious invasives" from Europe. It grows along the dirt road where we walk - but not in profusion exactly, so I don't know how "noxious" it is. I think this might be spotted knapweed, but I'm not 100% sure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.