just be

By justbe

My second vacation in Machiasport

This is an old family snapshot taken by my mother when we were on vacation in Machiasport in 1959. I was 10 and my brother, 3. I was modeling the typical 50's pixie haircut and my dad was sporting some fine saddle shoes. Also in the photo, behind my dad, is my maternal grandfather's cousin, Emery, my maternal grandfather, Gordon, his sister, Abbie(who left this house in Machiasport to us) and my beloved grandmother Nora, unbelievably holding a glass bottle of Coca Cola. I never ever saw her drink another, in my mind she drank only tea in proper tea cups. She was sixty six in this photo and lived thirty more years. Gramma always wore what we called a 'house-dress' in those days and the black laced shoes with a low heel. Great Aunt Abbie, her sister in law, died two years before her at 97. I loved them both with all my heart. 

You can see them in my EXTRA as young women sitting on the front stoop here in 1920, newly sisters in law.

For the Record,
This day came in humid and rather dismal, looking like rain, and we really need it, but it only arrived as a brief shower. We enjoyed ourselves at home watching the lobstering on the river bellows and out into the Machias Bay.

All hands and Merry happy as clams.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.