View from Water Street

I am doing a little job for a few weeks caring for a friend's elderly mom for a few hours a day while she is visiting. The house is on Water St. in Castine. The bit of land just on the left of the photo is Brooksville, where I live. I could be at her place in about 10 minutes if I had a boat and could come straight across. As it is it takes about 25 to drive around the Bagaduce. The photo shows where the Bagaduce river opens up to the Penobscot Bay off to the right. Straight out leads into Smith Cove. It's all very confusing with all the islands and convoluted shorelines.
I went back and looked at some of my photos from the wharf road that I've taken across at Castine. After using google maps it is clear that I was pretty much taking pictures of the Water street area. Here is a photo from the wharf road looking at Castine.
I imagine the big ship that you see in the photo looking over at Castine is off to the right in this picture. I didn't see it today. If I had taken the picture angled more to the left I might have seen the place I stand on the other side. I'll have to check it out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.