Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Power

A lunchtime walk down to the woods and Red Brick Dam brought a little more variety than usual. 

In among the usual butterflies was a Common Blue, which I only occasionally see on my patch, common as they are. Moth of the day was a Small Fan-footed Wave (extra).

I was trying to approach Red Brick Dam quietly through the woods. Not cautious enough though, as as soon as I popped my head over the dam wall a flash of blue indicated a Kingfisher disappearing from an open perch into cover. Still, it was the first time I’d seen a Kingfisher on this dam.

Then I looked up to see this Kestrel perched on one of the power lines, and for a brief moment got lucky with the lighting.

There was quite a bit of dragonfly activity on the dam, including an ovipositing Broad-bodied Chaser and various Hawkers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.