Hovering

I took a trip down to Portsmouth today and taking advantage of a new Park&Ride service, took the bus out to Southsea Castle, the main target of my visit.  Sadly, I hadn't checked the website carefully enough ... it was closed!  Still the cafe in the castle courtyard was open for a coffee and a very naughty scone with cream and jam.

I then walked back along the seawall to Gunwharf Quay, though had to take a number of detours around work to shore up the sea defences and protect Southsea from future flooding.

I didn't realise that the Hovercraft service from Clarence Pier to the Isle of Wight was still running.  I think we used it for a day trip as a family in the late 1960s or '70s. Though my memory may be failing, and it may have been a day trip to France (or perhaps both?)!!  Whatever, it was exciting to see it still operating.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.