LesTension

By LesTension

BOMBUS

It's Tiny Tuesday and this is one member of the Bumblebee clan, Bombus sp.
~
My coneflowers are in prime shape and the local pollinators have taken notice.
~
I know the Bumblebee is large compared to many of its contemporaries but it's still pretty small compared to most things.
~
FYI.....I used to think they had to sit on you in order to sting. NOT TRUE! I once had one nail me on the end of the nose in full flight.  It's a long story which I will tell if prompted.
~
FYI.....in grade school the corner store had these small bags of "stuff" that was mostly dry Jello. They cost 1 cent.....and were the perfect size in which to imprison a bumblebee. We'd (we nasty little boys) catch a bee, quickly pop it into the empty Jello bag and fold it over. Then we'd place it into our desk which had a liftable top to reveal a place to store things.  When the bee flapped its wings in frustration, all the desks of those nasty little boys would vibrate in unison. Drove the teacher crazy trying to locate the source of the buzzing.  It was the beginning of life for this baby biologist.
~
Best seen in Large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.