Abstract: Something in Red

We had errands that included the Bookmobile, groceries, and a cheesesteak. We arrived in town hungry as a pair of bears, so my husband went into Bradley's to order a cheesesteak hoagie, which we would eat outdoors on one of the nice red tables; there was actually one with an umbrella on it, which was a good deal, as I ended up sitting and waiting in shade.

In the 10 minutes I had to myself, I got out my camera and began to play with some shots of the red table, its holes and patterns, and the shadows beneath it. I felt a little bit stupid about it at first, but then I found my groove and I got some fun, sort of abstract shots.

Above is one of my favorites. I think the red really pops, and I did some things to make it even more so. I took the shot in vivid, and in post-production, I bumped up darkness and definition. I thought it was sort of a fun outcome. One of my goals in life is to simply SEE what there is to SEE. Here is another way of looking at something in red.

The soundtrack song is Lorrie Morgan, with Something in Red.

Also, do you ever read the comments and find one that just guts you? Check out this comment by Carl: Lorrie singing "Something in Red." This song has always spoke to me in a very unique way; it speaks something so sweet and yet sorrowful from the heart. I think it describes silent cries from the heart of a sweet, love starved ex-wife of mine. I am forever sorry.
Carl goes on to say: for years I was a sick ignorant macho man that threw everything good away and can not face the past.
Come on, Carl. Go find her and tell her you're sorry. Ask for some grace. You might be surprised how it turns out, Carl. CARL, ARE YOU LISTENING? As long as there is life, and breath, there is HOPE for love! There's still time to change how this story ends, Carl!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.