Hot and Stormy

Dave and I went for a morning walk at the Castle and made the most of the shade in the woodland. It was 32C by 10am.

On return home we camped in the shade in the garden with iced smoothies while Dave did his work calls. By 230pm when Dave left it was too hot in the garden with very little shade and my flat was 37C in the coolest room. Unbearable. I don’t know how he managed to sleep in my office last night which is wood-lined like a sauna!

By 5pm I headed off for my outdoor swim and it was such a relief to get in the water. My Bae called after my swim to say a thunderstorm and downpour was at the Castle and headed towards my village.

I got home just in time and watched the storm in the distance with the window wide open and the lights out. The photo is the clouds forming just before the storm.

It circled around Egerton and Headcorn before heading over towards Ashford. As my village is at the foot of the North Downs it often bypasses us. The air cleared briefly but the temperature stayed around 30C all night. I didn’t sleep much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.