Red Hot Tuna Unlimited

By RedHotTuna

On The Rosd

To the cinema. I have waited a long, long time for this.

I first read "On The Road" when I was a teenager (just) and re read it a couple of years ago. To me it is still fresh and shows a slice of Americana not often talked about when reflecting back on the post war boom period. It was thought to be one of the great unfilmable novels and I went to see the Walter Salles effort at The Electric Palace.

I would say it was not a bad effort in one respect and way off the mark in others and I left with my preconception intact - trying to fit it all into one two hour movie meant that too much was left out and much of what was left was sensationalised. Nevertheless the acting was convincing, it was beautifully shot and at times conveyed the real energy of the book.

This is a cr#p shot of the closing credits

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.