Brown Argus

JJ needed fuel this morning so I went with him and then dropped into Aldi's for Lacura face cream, which is very reasonably priced, unlike other brands.  I can't say I'm looking exactly youthful but it feels good.

For a few days I've been puzzled by the sound of what I thought was a young bird of prey and knew it was coming from the woods over the back.  This afternoon JJ suggested a walk and on route we heard and saw a juvenile female sparrowhawk land in one of the dead trees.  Unfortunately I only had my macro lens on the camera, but I did get an image that confirmed the sighting.

This is a Brown Argus, which is very similar to a Common Blue, but distinguished by the lack of a fourth spot.  However I don't know whether it's male or female because I can't see the tip of the abdomen.

Considering Luke has missed quite a bit of school due to problems associated with his leukaemia, he was around for his SATS exams and has done really well with high scores.  In September he moves up to "big" school.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.