Ice Ice Baby

You can tell it’s been an exciting day when defrosting the freezer is the only thing worthy of a blip. And as I totally forgot to take a “before” picture, you will have to trust me when I say that the inside was thick with ice a couple of hours previously!
Thankfully, the warm day meant I didn’t have to hack at it and I just let nature take its course. We’d run the freezer contents down to the bare minimum beforehand, and what was left is has been put in a cool bag with all the ice blocks we can find. Hopefully it will still be in a frozen state when it goes back in, otherwise tea will be smoked salmon bagels. Doesn’t sound too bad actually! A shopping trip will be required in the next couple of days to restock.
After a night off last night, I’m back out this evening. I’m going to see Joseph And His Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat in Blackpool. And I think this is actually a show that was booked post lockdown, which makes a change from everything else in the calendar. Talking of which, I finally had the bad news that Brian Wilson would not, after all, be appearing at Bridgewater Hall in Manchester. This was a show that was one of the first victims of covid, though it went through a couple of rescheduled dates that were also cancelled. After a long gap where the venue assured me they were still trying to book a new date, they have finally said it’s not going to happen and I will be refunded. Not exactly surprising given the delay and that Brian is now 80, but disappointing nevertheless.
To cheer myself up, I’ve booked tickets this afternoon to see Everybody’s Talking About Jamie next September at The Lowry in Salford and to see a couple of blues acts at The Tivoli in Buckley next February. The Tiv used to be a concert venue I frequented in my youth and it doesn’t seem to have moved on much, as I still had to phone up to book the tickets because I wanted to pay by card. It felt very strange booking by phone and being told I’d get physical tickets posted out to me - took me right back to the good old days before t’internet existed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.