Windy at the Beach

I had the pleasure of volunteering with Ruth S today at Euclid Beach Park.  we've been out hiking together twice before I became a trail ambassador, just for the fun of it.  She recently moved to the retirement community where my mother and Mr Mole's father lived (separately). 

The wind was constantly blowing and the red flag was out, prohibiting swimming due to rough waters and expected waterspouts.  We toured both Wildwood Park (marina and creek) and Euclid Beach Park, both small, so extra partial laps were done to complete our two-hour shift.  We saw a huge freighter, lots of birds above Lake Erie and in the woods, young interns from Lincoln Electric Company cleaning up the beach (thank you), seniors from the nearby apartment buildings, and several young mothers with young children. 


Before we parted company, we drove to see the home of my great grandmother nearby on Grovewood Avenue, and then a few minutes later to Cavotta's (Nursery and) Urban Market near my paternal grandparents' home.   I was so happy at the beautiful lake with the wind blowing steadily.  It was sad seeing the decline of neighborhoods I frequented as a child/teen. 

81 degrees, sunny, 9,627 steps, 3.7 miles.  I forgot to get the number of guests we greeted from Ruth.  No assists.  Plenty of doggies! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.