hpx

By hpx

A few of my favourite things

I've always had a bit of a thing for maps, especially NZ Topo 50 maps. I love the logic of the grid coordinate system. It's a thing of beauty. I could wax lyrical for ages.

Sometimes they're unwieldy especially in wind and rain. There are ways to mitigate both. They're always a source of information. Maps always work. When technology fails or closed in terrain prevents satellite signals, a paper map is a good thing to have.

Occasionally I replace battered or lost maps. The battered ones become wrapping paper. I'm about to add to my collection, a mix of replacement and expansion. I need a better map filing system too.

I worked in the office today. The stretch of rural road I travelled on was a mix crater like potholes and roadside flooding from the rain.

Today's gratitude: For time spent sitting quietly after work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.