curns' corner

By curns

Villa view

I spent some of the morning taking pictures of Mum and Dad’s villa. I don’t think I will be back here. The sale should all be wrapped up by the end of June. It’s a lovely setting but the hill and the need to have a car makes it hard for short holidays where walking to restaurants and beaches is preferable. If, like they did, you come for longer periods then it is much more justifiable.

Just after 6pm we headed to Alicante Airport where, ahead of my flight home, I found the British Airways lounge and settled in for some food and wine. It was a strange, long and thin room, but there was a selection of food and wine and I watched an episode of Bosch on Amazon Prime to pass the time until we headed to the gate.

The flight itself was uneventful but arrival at Gatwick was very painful. It took over two hours to get the bags I’d only had to check because of the marmalade.  When I arrived in the baggage hall it did not feel that busy but as midnight turned into the early house more and more people arrived. And many people were getting very agitated and shouting at any member of staff that dared to walked through the area. I can understand why the staff all disappeared: who would want to face that angry crowd when there were no answers.  The bags did, eventually arrive and I was able to head for the taxi.

However, by this time, it was almost 1am and public transport options had dwindled and the number of taxis was next to nothing. Uber couldn’t get me a driver - nor could any of the other app companies - so I ended up waiting for an official Gatwick car service which was able to get me a car at about 2:15am. I do wonder if I would have been better checking to see if there was a hotel room rather than getting home at 3am. Not a great end to, what was, a lovely week in the sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.