Sisters

Long story alert
Ok I’ll try and make this quick
My mum aged 84 had been a tad obsessed with genealogy. Four years ago this lunged into DNA ancestry and all of us dutifully spat into tubes and discovered how Norwegian we were.
Cue August 2019. Canadian guy gets in touch with mum saying he was her brother… she checks out his DNA and finds he’s half Polish.. doesn’t add up.. til she checks her sister’s DNA… half Polish. Turns out in the summer of 1942 when my mum and Grandmother had gone to Elie for the summer, a visiting Polish brigade training for Arnhem were stationed there too.
Who knows what happened but hopefully a nice wee sun kissed affair.
My auntie Penny was born the following year and has always been very very different from my mum in looks and personality so when this shock explanation came to light we weren’t surprised and reckon she’d known all along.
Fast forward to January 2022. Mum gets and email.
Hi, I think we might be cousins.
Mum, now an expert on those pesky DNA strands takes one look and realises here we have a new sister, now on her fathers side. So in 1943 ( catch up youse at the back) my grandfather sired a daughter and then the following year another . So not one but two new sisters!!
Today we met one of them. The wonderful Lesley, as eccentric and funny as my bonkers Grandfather and spookily the spitting image of him with the exact same eyes and facial expressions.
We spent a wonderful afternoon swopped photos and anecdotes and just getting to know each other. My mum is somewhat bemused to say the least.
I find it hilarious!
Be careful what you wish for and also where you dip your quill! ;))))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.