A hot air balloon over Brimscombe

After hearing a strange sound earlier today I had a random thought that it was the burner of a hot air balloon and looked up in the sky, only to see nothing. 

Tonight I looked up into the approaching dusk sky and there was a balloon. I quickly found my camera and grabbed a few shots. After a short while I saw the flames of a burner being ignited and zoomed in for this picture.

I've added an 'Extra' showing my first sight of the balloon a bit higher in the sky before it drifted further away and descended somewhat.

Balloons were regular visitors over our valleys in former years but this was the first I've seen since before Covid. The advertising has a Bristol phone number suggesting that is where it hails from. Bristol has been a very popular ballooning centre with regular mass flights from Ashton Court  during balloon festivals. Maybe they will now return more often.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.