Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Grandads!

My favorite apple orchard at Hendersonville, North Carolina was open for the season this weekend. I told the hubby that our favorite apples, honey crisp, were ripe and for sale so he said let’s drive up to get a bag. Eat lunch out at The Moose Cafe!

I said okay!

We had a great lunch(chicken and dumplings for me and chicken fried steak for him) then went by the farmers market which is next to the restaurant. I picked up some fresh orange colored beets and a few jars of homemade pickles.


At the orchard we could see the trees were loaded with apples. There are many varieties grown herewith some ripeningat different times. Today there were also zestar and jonagold apples ripe as well as honey crisp so I got a few of those. A box of apple cider donuts ( melt in your mouth delicious) and a new item, fermented apple cider which has a little bit of alcoholic content. I love hard cider like Angry Orchard so will be doing a taste test this evening! I read on their website that they used the apples that were unsold at the end of last season to make the cider.

When we arrived home a good rainstorm had happened so all the flowers got a good soaking. Thankful for this rain as we really needed it.

It also cooled off the heat a little!

Hope your weekend is a good one Blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.