DDW

By DDW

Bird Safari

We arrived in Honningsvag, Norway early this morning and shortly after docking we disembarked to climb onto another vessel to see birds!  We drove to a village called Gjesvaer where we set off in a fishing boat to some protected islands inhabited only by birds and seals. 

I have never seen a Puffin before, so you can imagine how excited I was to see literally thousands of them swimming and diving in the water, flying high above us, and sitting on the cliffs guarding their eggs!  We also saw countless Kittiwakes, Guillemots, Gannets, Eagles, Cormorants, Arctic Terns, Razorbills, and Purple Sandpipers as well as many curious seals poking their sleek heads up out of the water to look at us looking at them!

I only had my cell phone with me which sadly does a terrible job with any kind of zooming, so almost all my images are weirdly pixelated -- no great shots of those adorable Puffins!  But here you can see what the landscape looked like, as well as a traditional rack with cod drying on it (ick!), and Mr. W making friends with some trolls he found on the cruise ship dock!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.