Pots

Although we went to the first Potfest in the Park and have been there regularly over the years, we hadn’t been for a while - for obvious reasons or because we were away. Today we decided to go. Much as it pains us to put money into the pockets of the already wealthy we paid up at the gate and went in.

One of the reasons I wanted to go this year was to do with plates. Every time we have been to the Potfest we have met a lovely French lady who put on a beautiful stand and was very friendly, willing to chat. And each year I have bought one of her wall plates. I have four, they are on the wall and I love them, but I have always felt that I needed one more and I knew exactly where it would go.

So I thought there might be a chance that she would be there today. Little did I know that there was no chance. Having wandered for while and seen some nice things, we thought there was something wrong - where were all the usual European potters. We asked at the stand where I was making a purchase and was told that after Brexit it was incredibly difficult for them to come here or they to go there. He was obviously upset and angry with the situation - all the paperwork, regulations, taxes etc. just made it not worthwhile for anyone.

If this is true then it is very sad. The great thing about the Potfest was always the bringing together of Potters from around Europe. Today we felt it was all a little lack lustre, maybe we now know why.

Anyway, even I watched the last half hour of the football - amazing. Europeans coming together - why did anyone want to make us insular!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.