The Weet From The Chiffchaff

It's peak bug season but I thought I ought to ring the changes and post something else. There's a reason why birders resort to posting bugs at this time of year. For a start birds are difficult to spot when the leaves are on the trees and during July and August they're skulking because they are moulting. While I have been photographing insects on the burdock I have been hearing a chiffchaff, not singing its name but calling, Weet from deep in the tangle of hogweed and stinging nettles. It wasn't easy but I've managed to get a shot of the messy little thing. I don't know whether it is a moulting adult or a juvenile. Whatever it is it will need decent flight feathers for its long journey to the Med or Africa in September.   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.