Sally Mair - Loving life

By Sallymair

The boys are back in town!

After at least two months of only sparrows and dunnocks in the garden I awoke to the sound of chirping. When I looked through the window, through a chink in the curtain, the tits were back! (stop that sniggering in the back row! ). Coal, blue, great, long tails - they were all there. Some clearly this year's brood. The trees was alive with them! The pigeon was there too, in ecstacy prowling underneath the feeders collecting all the crumbs. The image quality isn't great as it was taken on my phone through glass, but it was so lovely to see them all back again and I didn't want to risk frightening them away.
I skipped church this morning, I badly needed a rest. I did however go out and do some clearing on the corner terrace bed. I also dead headed most of the roses in the front garden. Annoyingly my good bypass secateurs, which are only 4 years old, broke. They have a hand guard on them and the spring holding it in place snapped high meant it floated around the handle getting in the way. I wasn't very impressed I'd expected them to last much longer. I left a comment saying so on the website and I'm going to have to head out and get some more.
After my labours I came back in and to my surprise fell sound asleep for 2 hours. I hope that doesn't stop me sleeping tonight!
We went down to the M&S outlet after I woke and I bought myself a couple of pairs of trousers to shorten!!! I'm not that small (5'4) and I think 5'4-6 is about average height for women, but even the short length were far too long. It is annoying. Sewing isn't easy since I broke my wrist.
Lazy evening, light dinner then scrabble, #1 daughter and family are home, #2 most of the way back and home tomorrow. My chicks are coming home to roost.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.