isbiJG

By isbiJG

A Garrett but not a Garratt.

On the way back from Cowra today, I took a detour into the sleepy historic village of Carcoar and found these magnificent pieces just sitting in a semi public yard in town.
The first extra is the identification plate on the industrial steam engine in the main blip. On doing some homework on my return, I find that Richard Garrett is not only no relation but he spells his name differently from Herbert Garratt, the designer of the articulated locomotives that I remember from my childhood.
The extra is from the other side of the Atlantic, a McCormick Deering tractor from the 1920s which appears beyond restoration.
Apologies to those who don’t share my fascination with this stuff but isbi’s already tolerated it for nearly 44 years!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.