Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Dawn in Suburbia

Beaumont, Dublin, 5:00 am! I'm not often awake at this time, and less often inclined to pull aside the bedroom curtains to blip the dawn sky. But that's what happened this morning.

I quickly return to my audio book and then breakfast at the more usual time of 9:00 am. Actually, it was a shorter breakfast than usual because the cupboard was rather bare. Up the road so to the Spar on the Malahide Road for bread and not-actually-butter. I know it's a bank holiday and all that, but still things were eerily quiet even allowing for that (see extra for what this usually busy road looked like at 10:15).

p.s.
I rather put my food in it last night when I phoned my brother in Australia at 8pm to wish him a happy birthday. I'd consulted the World Clock section of the Clock app on my phone. He lives near Brisbane and I calculated that 8pp here would be 10am the next morning there. It wasn't. The brother usually answers after a couple of rings, but for the first time ever I got his recorded message (perfunctory — "I'm not here"). I left a message. He emailed me at 11:30pm to say I'de wakened him from deep sleep at 5am his time. Woops! I blame it on the Clock app.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.