rachellouise

By rachellouise

Discharged

For the last 5 weeks I have been a patient in the Mother and Baby Unit at Leverndale Mental Health Hospital.
Believe it or not the picture on the left is the 'before' picture. It shows someone suffering with severe postnatal depression, postnatal anxiety and PTSD.

I am so proud of my 'after' photo with my family. I still have a long way to go but I'm happy to be well enough to go home with the help of the Community Mental Health team.

A big lesson I have learned is that it is so important to be open about Mental Health, it's just the same as any other illness. It is nothing to be ashamed of. If you are suffering please reach out for help, help is always out there for anyone who needs it. Even if it looks as if you are holding it together on the outside don't be ashamed of being honest and letting someone know you are struggling.

Our little family will be taking things easy for the next few weeks as the journey to recovery isn't always a straight road.

Thank you for the thoughts,cards and prayers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.