We heard a shout

My husband was in the front garden and I was upstairs stripping our bed linen when we both heard some urgent shouts. I noticed earlier that our next door but one neighbour was painting her front gates with black paint. 
My husband was first on the scene, she had tripped and covered herself with black paint, face hair, around her eyes, body, it was everywhere. Panic, how to help. First my husband shouted for her husband who was indoors and then he came home to pick up some paint brush cleaner which he thought would be kinder to her skin than white spirit. We left her husband cleaning her up in the garage. Late afternoon she came to see us with a thank you card and a bottle of bubbly. She was so grateful we had heard her cries for help and came to her rescue. She said my husband looked as traumatised as she felt. The paint used was a thick quick drying hammerite  paint. After getting the worse off she had had a warm bath. She has hurt her back as well as her pride. I blamed the flip flops she was wearing  and she had a sleeveless black top and black shorts on so nothing to protect her body. A lesson learnt. 
I went for a walk into town to get some turmeric as I have found a soup recipe for our surplus yellow courgettes. I noticed this helenium flower on my way home. By coincidence I am watching last Friday’s gardener’s world and one of the features is a keen helenium grower who holds the National collection. I emptied lots of my pots today where I had bulbs over the winter and where a squirrel/s had helped themselves to most of my tulip bulbs. The pots will be covered next year, I am not providing bulb food next winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.