Living my dream

By Mima

Connors

Cape Wanbrow, where Bean and I walk whenever we are in town, has a mixture of uppy-downy walking tracks and vertiginous mountain bike tracks. They are well-signed and we are encouraged to remain on our track of choice. Occasionally we see a cyclist whizzing past where our paths cross, but mostly they are hidden in the trees.

The bike tracks have names including The Goat Track, The Inclinator, John’s Track and Connors. We walkers don’t need named routes apparently.

The blip shows Connors as it dives down through the trees towards Oamaru Harbour which you can just see through the foliage.

A bit of progress was made on tying in the young raspberry canes, but most of the day was in town getting a haircut, meeting a friend for coffee, swapping library books, walking on the Cape and some shopping.

I lost the will to live after about half the shopping stops and headed home without several things. Sometimes the hustle and hassle of town overwhelms me and I have to leave as quickly as possible. I’ll brace myself and go in again later in the week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.