Where's a Crane when you want one?

Local Holiday today :) Time for a bonus cycle trip :) I decided on a bit of an ornithological challenge ... to set the scene, the first time I'd ever seen a Common Crane was while cycling round Vinijarvi in Finland several years ago with Johanna and I've never seen one here in Aberdeenshire. Now, there were reports of two at an RSPB reserve at the moment, I decided I'd go and try to see them but I wouldn't drive there, I'd bike it. The weather wasn't good - there was a howling wind and their isn't much in the way of shelter out in the Buchan countryside - but I battled 39 miles out to Strathbeg and, yes yo've guessed it, never saw the cranes. C'est la vie! The anticipation of maybe seeing them kept me going through the wind and by the time I got home I'd clocked up over 70 hard miles. So what's with this tree then? Well its fallen across the Formartine & Buchan Way just south of Maud and its a real obstacle as there isnt a way round it. I had to lift the bike over it which is fine for me but not everyone could manage that and this track is for horses, walkers and folks in wheelchairs too, so I've put in a report with the council and hopefully it will get cleared.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.