Steps

This morning I had to go into Appleby to collect the new reading glasses I had ordered. This is the wonderful opticians, or at least part of the building is. Mike obviously shares the building with others, including a private dentist. 

It is a listed building, built in 1773 as the Shire Hall and County Court. Behind it was the gaol. What I hadn't realised was that it was still in 2000 in use as a Magistrate's Court and related offices. In 2002 it was more to less derelict and there was a campaign to save it for the town. I am not sure what happened then but now it is home to various businesses. 

The steps are obviously original and bear the evidence of many footsteps, possibly some of those in the past of people in trouble. I wonder whether anyone is responsible for keeping the steps in good order! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.