Sue Willoughby

By HP1485

Lordenshaws, Northumberland

Two long Zoom meetings today. Once the second one finished I was itching to get outside and go for a walk. D suggested a walk down to The Village Inn for refreshments but I preferred to drive the half mile. On the way we talked about having supper there but after one drink each, decided the early evening light was calling us to The Simonside Hills for a walk.

Glad I had the car, so we drove the 3-4miles to the car park and headed to the tops for the views. The hills are covered in heather that is now coming into flower and looking beautiful - but I had my back to them when I took this image.

D pointed out the stone with 6,000 year old cup and ring art - amazing to think it’s survived weathering for so many years and can still clearly be seen.

There was no room in any of the Rothbury restaurants (tourists ugh!) so we returned to The Village Inn for a quiet supper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.