Soft "e"

Today was more eventful than others recently. 

It started with a haircut at 8am. The tousled grungy* look has been dumped, and I am back to the Dapper Dan image. My time in the barber’s chair used to be well spent with gossip and animated political discussion. Not now. We have been ground down. We ended up talking about shinty and Lambrettas. 

Then I went out and did my Couch-to-5k session. I am now past the halfway mark, and still going strong. (Nothing like tempting fate, is there.)

At lunchtime Junior texted me to ask if I could collect his prescription from the pharmacy at the local retail park - not places (the park or that national chain pharmacy) I ever go to. I walked there (30 minutes). Then I queued for 15 minutes. When I left, about 10-15 people were behind me in the queue. Grim. 

If it took me 5 minutes to collect my medication from the wee community pharmacy I use, I would be grumpy and asking to speak to the manager. 90 seconds is about average. 

My new blood pressure monitor arrived, so I had a new toy to play with. It produced the same result as the old one. I am not sure what I was expecting, but… 

Then in the evening I drove over to Inverkeithing to drop off Junior's medication for him. 

In all of that, very little Blip opportunity came up. It came down to a choice between my bright, sunny lunch or gloomy Dysart Harbour as I pounded my way back to the car. 



* Can someone explain why we do not need an “e” after the “g” to make it soft?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.