WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Impromptu

I went for a quick whiz round Lézignan market this morning -- it was so hot that I only stayed long enough to buy tomatoes, peaches, and a Chinese roast chicken so that we could have chicken without having to put the oven on. Back home, I headed straight for the pool ... unfortunately although the aquagym had finished, all the kids from the summer camp were there. I hate trying to swim in a crowded pool, so I decided to try later.

Back again at 7:30 pm -- it was still crowded, not surprising in this weather, but unusually S came with me and we both had a refreshing five-minute swim before retreating to dry off.

"Fancy an apero at the restaurant?" said S. "We haven't got any money with us." "Oh yes we have!" he replied. So we walked the few metres to the terrace and ordered Kina Karo and tonic with a couple of tapas. Very nice indeed, and the restaurant was doing much better business than when we had lunch alone the other day ... a dozen people.

In other news, I'm reading Jonathan Franzen's Crossroads for my book group. I haven't read anything by him before, wasn't expecting to enjoy it, but I'm galloping through it. What a writer! Nearly finished now -- I see it's part of a trilogy, cheekily called A Key to All Mythologies (title stolen from Middlemarch). Now I actually don't think it's hubristic to speak of him in the same breath as George Eliot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.