WerzMeMojo

By WerzMeMojo

Blip the first

This is my first blip, who knows how many will follow.

Bought a new toy this week, decided to upgrade my ageing Canon G9 with a nice brand spanking Fujifilm X-Pro1 with a couple of lenses to go with it. Nice bit of kit, but will take a little getting used to.

Anyway, this was my first trip out to see what it could do.

Went for a wander around Edinburgh and ended up in the National Museum of Scotland. So I had a little culture, along with my learning.

This is a marble bust of the Roman Emperor Antoninus Pius, from the early years of his reign (around 140 AD), which is currently on loan from the British Museum's collection.

I've only been in the NMoS a couple of times before, but when ever I wander past this part of the museum I always stop and look at this bust. It always fascinates me that something so beautiful and fragile as this would last nearly 2000 years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.