Outside looking in

I seldom see this view. It's taken from deep within the front garden where I cut back a couple of Micanthus grasses late this afternoon. Their new season growth is looking healthy. But any gap of skin they find leaves me with red welts. :-(

The Podocarpus Matapouri blue (blue totara) hedge is gaining height and width. It's beautiful, as is the Podocarpus totara aurea cloud tree.

Smack in the middle of the photo is a bale of pea straw. One or more cats toppled 4 bales during last weeks heavy rain. During a lunch break I went out in my wet weather gear and did my best restore order. Dry peastraw bales are heavy and awkward. Sodden they're leaden. Somehow I woman handled 3 back into stacked order beside the fence.

I dragged the fourth bale, upended it on a paver, and it's leaning against the end of the feijoa's windbreak. Left to soak over a 100mm more rain, the job would have been harder.

Blocking the path can't go on forever. I'll have to carefully break the bale up where it is. There are some exposed garden spots that would appreciate its goodness.

Today's gratitude: For the smile from seeing my young friend David, pulled along on his skateboard by his dog. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.