Life Savors

By osuzanna

Young Robin in the Willow

A few months ago, I met a woman at Brookside Gardens who was also carrying her camera. We chatted for quite a while, and realizing we had many similar interests we shared contact information.  We have since met up several times for a walk and a chat.  Yesterday, she showed me a new location for walking and shooting wildlife which is very near where we both live and of which I had been totally unaware.  That is where I got this shot.

After our walk, she invited me back to her studio.  She is an artist and uses her photography primarily for her art.  I was completely blown away by the incredible paintings, sculptures and collages that she has created.  We are the same age (early 70's) and she had hanging on her wall a painting that she had done when she was 16.  It was so beautiful and amazing and worthy of a museum gallery.  In addition she is a writer and teaches creative writing to young adults.  She has published a number of young adult/adult novels, many with her beautiful artwork on the cover.  She is a tiny, petite woman over whom I tower. It is amazing that so much talent could be in such a small person. 

At this age, it isn't often that the opportunity comes up to make new friends. I am so pleased that this has happened. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.