Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Bantaskine

Having let my Canal-walking endeavours slip somewhat during July, I was determined not to let the same happen in August.

This was a Tuesday when I wasn't out with the Ramblers - instead, I started the day with breakfast and a natter with friends at a local garden centre. It was good to catch up, but the calorific value of a 'full Scottish' would probably outweigh any amount of canal walking. Nevertheless I drove over to the Falkirk Wheel in the afternoon and headed east along the Union Canal, walking as far as Sunday's start-point at Polmont Station.

My plan to get the train back to Camelon was thwarted by an electrical fault at Stirling causing a temporary suspension of train services on that line, but I got a pleasant surprise on checking the alternatives on my phone to discover there was a frequent bus service from near Polmont station that passes close to the Falkirk Wheel car park. Result!

Today's Blip was taken on the Union Canal towpath near the Seagull Trust centre at Bantaskine Park in Falkirk.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.