Eight to the Folly

Eight to the Folly

Sue and I are on Swindon Grandchild duty this week. We met up with Fran at Wimpole Hall with her two plus Aiden’s friend Dan who is over from Italy.

This is the first visit I have made to Wimpole since they put the new car park and reception area in. Wimpole is a National Trust Property and this layout is reminiscent of Waddesdon Manor in Buckinghamshire, another Favourite NT house of ours. 

Frances decided it would be a good idea to walk to the Folly. Off we went. With my knees I was slower and at the rear. Funny coincidence this was always my position when we took the Scouts out on a walk. It did not matter, I had my camera to take photos anyway.

Here you see us nearing the folly and as you can see it was a lovely day.

Two hours later we were back at the start and we all had an ice cream. It may have been only 9,500 steps and far less than some people do but my knees enjoyed the sit down.

I realised as I was walking back to the Hall that one of my hearing aid batteries had run out. 

As we got back to the car park I over heard a conversation between Aiden and the others. I thought he said ‘Happiness is a Laxative’. I was quite surprised at this and when I asked him he laughed and said ’No, I was talking about a person who had just had a baby and It was a Happy Accident’ We all had a chuckle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.