HClaireB

By HClaireB

3 months old

In April I reported that the female Red Kite that lives in my garden was showing no sign of nest building or mating, and I decided she was having the year off after raising two chicks last year.

I was completely wrong. I still have no idea where she has built her nest, it's extremely well hidden, and the occasional male I see around, who must be her mate, is extremely shy.

In early June this "chick" suddenly appeared following her around the treetops whistling loudly to be fed. He (or she) is largely able to fend for himself now, although he still pursues Mum regularly.

Meanwhile she has started collecting food and ferrying it away to somewhere invisible in the treetops, which is usually a sign that she is feeding a chick in the nest. So maybe like all the little birds, she has actually nested twice this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.