Gossip shop

Fishguard has two charity (thrift) shops and this is my favourite. It's called The Animal Welfare Shop. When something 'new' appears at home my family assume it comes from here and they are usually right. OK, you have to trawl through a lot of whimsical ornaments, romantic fiction and unsuitable shoes but there is treasure to be found - useful items anyway.

The shop supports local animal sanctuaries and so dogs are warmly welcomed. The friendly ladies who volunteer here always offer Casey a dog biscuit which he is too polite to refuse and it's up to me to explain that he doesn't actually like biscuits. (They never offer me one although I noticed that there was a plateful of human biscuits on the counter.)

There was a jolly gathering today of helpers and friends who'd dropped in for a chat. I'd brought as a donation one of those long retractable dog leads that we had no use for and it was immediately put under the counter for 'so-and-so who was looking for one just like that'. Ailments, of pets and people, were being discussed and unsuitably-sized garments greeted, as usual, with cackles of laughter. I can't remember what I said before I took the photograph but it evidently creased them up.

Go LARGE for the detail. The photos behind the counter are of rescued animals.

technically[/u] I suspect it's fraction outside of West Street.]



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.