M9

By M9

BACK FOR A QUICK MINUTE

It is very rare moment when these hawks stand on top of their nest for any length of time, so I'm very pleased to get this shot. If they are resting there, they are within the nest and totally out of sight. Whenever I've seen one on the nest, it flies away within a minute or two. This nest is such a long distance from my vantage point, that this is probably as good as it gets with my camera, but I'm still excited about it.

We are used to having several rabbits, squirrels & chipmunks, and a good selection of birds in our yard, but ever since the hawks decided to build their nest in woods, all other animals have disappeared. When I started blipping, I expected to have a nice selection of woodland creatures to photograph, but such is not the case this spring, so I am getting as much out of this resident hawk pair as possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.