Poaka; the Pied Stilt

A good day. Up early for a run, and treated to a wonderful sunrise over Kawau Bay. In the few minutes before this shot, the upward crepuscular rays were strong and dominated the sky, with great reflections in the water.

However, I chose this photograph, as it includes two poaka. The Pied Stilt (Himantopus himantopus) is a common native wader, found in estuaries and areas of mudflats, like Snells Beach. My guide book tells me that many poaka from the southern parts of New Zealand migrate north after the breeding season ends in January, thus explaining why I am seeing more in recent weeks.

This is good to look at large

After breakfast I read through the agenda for Wednesday's meeting, before in the late morning we headed north to Mangawhai to visit close friends for lunch. Great company, wonderful lunch, and came away with an unwanted bromeliad to find a place for here.

Our friends both retired earlyish, to a 10 acre block of land on which they have had built a lovely home. He runs a few steers, and the two of them have established a magnificent large garden. Lots of big trees, chosen as providing food and shelter for native birds. Also exotics and flowers. It is so peaceful and pretty, one feels refreshed on arrival and that increases while there.

Now back home, and even the slow traffic (due to all the people heading back to Auckland before the working week starts tomorrow) failed to induce stress. I am fortunate in that I don't need to be there until the afternoon, so we can go back tomorrow. We were only in the queue for about 8 km, until we turned off to the beach.

A quiet evening, I think.

ADDITIONAL:
I have decided to place two other photos from this morning into the blipfolio. The first was the choice of S for my blip. Had it been taken with still hands, I might well have agreed. The fascinating thing was the way that as I walked towards the gulls they moved to line up like a row of mediaeval soldiers defending their land.

The other was my favourite of the sky and waters of the bay.

S also asked that I make it clear that when I said "a bromeliad" it began as one but what we were given completely filled an apple box.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.