Fornsalen, Visby

The downside of dressing up for Medieval Week is that regular tourists will, inevitably, shove their camera phone in my face as if I were a tourist attraction.

Please don’t do that. 

Yes, it’s a little flattering to know that my outfit looks good, but it’s very unpleasant to feel exposed like that. Yes, some do ask for permission, but… still. I’m just here as a visitor, just like anyone else. I find myself looking for less tourist-heavy routes through town, just to get away from unwanted cameras.

End of message. Sorry for the rant.

Today was good, despite the above frustration. Walking the market, shopping for trinkets, running into old friends, eating good hearty food with good local beer. This is why I come here.

Extra: yesterday’s sunset - taken after I posted yesterday’s blip, and as a rule I always post pictures on the day they were taken, but I’m making an exception here because omigod it’s so pretty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.