No one is looking at this

By Limey

Chrüterhüsli (The Little House of Herbs)

Figure I will close out July with more Germany & Switzerland retroblips, what the hell :)

I managed ok with the local accent in Basel, although signs like these in the local dialect threw me off. I have to read it out loud, before I can figure it out.  To be fair, Basel actually hasn't been too bad as far as Swiss German goes. The dialect spoken in Bern is crazy thick. That's probably the equivalent of dumping a non-native English speaker in some little Welsh town up the mountains.

I think they're pretty used to speaking standard German in Basel due to it being on the border with France and Germany. I don't remember hearing any French spoken, which I thought was weird, considering Basel has some suburbs spilling into France, with direct tram lines.  

But as long as nobody responds to me in English, I consider it a win :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.