That was fun

When Anne suggested we try Yorkshire Buttons for our next flag I wondered what she was talking about. I knew all about Dorset Buttons, although I have never made one, but Yorkshire Buttons . . . 

Dorset Buttons have a long history, a traditional cottage industry which was very important prior to factory-made buttons. Yorkshire Buttons have no such history, in fact they use a known spider web stitch and the name was probably adopted relatively recently so that the area had its own button. 

I bought a set of templates and set to. It was tricky at first, but I soon got the hang of it and made quite a few. I enjoyed making them and felt I could make a whole set, except that I have nothing to put them on!

This finished piece has five little buttons and I have included two of the woven pieces before they got gathered up to make a button. I liked them like this and the buttons didn't look as lonely. I have included an extra of the work, taken yesterday before I decided what to do with it. You can see the templates and how the process is really weaving in the round. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.