Carvalho (left) meet Diana

Diana is an acoustic ukulele with electric pickup and sound effects by makers Flight who are based in Slovenia. I was looking for a such an instrument to play as part of the Marmite band. I tried a couple of others, this made the better sound.

I had it strung with a low G rather than the high G which is usually the case. I’ve only recently recently learned about low G and I like the richer, more mellow sound it makes.

Tried it out tonight with Uketok and it sounded good. Slightly wider frets to the other uke and I think a slightly wider neck which is why I think it took a little while to realise why I wasn’t hitting the chords cleanly.

It was a bit of a chore getting to the shop in Bournemouth, the road around Ringwood was very congested, the journey taking longer than the satnav led us to believe. The journey back wasn’t too bad until we hit the M25 at the end of the M3. Crawling after that for about 45 minutes. I wasn’t driving which gave me the chance to catch up on blips.

A very enjoyable weekend, topped by a new uke. Thank you Susan

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.