GenuineBlip

By GenuineBlip

Who Ya Lookin' At?

Lovely evening for 'cocktail hour' on the deck overlooking our backyard garden.   I'm sipping my  Skiwasser*  and nibbling prosciutto & cheese rolls, when my spousal-unit points up to the sky & grunts something unintelligible (his mouth was full).  Looking up and following the direction of his finger, I easily spot the large bird holding court atop the utility pole in the alley beyond our fence.  I didn't have my phone,  and he was too far anyway for a decent phone picture.  Quickly jumping up & pleading "Don't  fly away!  I'm  gonna get my REAL camera!"    I run inside and grab my forgotten Nikon out of the closet, check the battery...yay, it's charged!  the setting... put it on auto... and dashed back.  Our hawk friend regally remained on its perch, quizzically (perhaps?) looking down at me 'aiming & shooting" it.  Just in blippin' time!
(Skiwassser: 'Ski-water', a hot drink served on the slopes of the Alps.  I have only tried the summer version with ice and fizzy water.  Raspberry syrup, lemon juice, water.  I learned about it from 'The Garden of the Finzi-Continis'  the Dante Book Selection for August)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.